Materials for Energy Systems


(Dr. rer. nat. Christoph Somsen, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Eggeler)

A secure supply of electrical power is one of the basic requirements for our future. With this in mind, the series of lectures considers engineering materials for power plants, where thermal energy is first transformed into mechanical energy and then into electrical energy. These materials are used for critical components in gas and steam turbines where fossil fuel (gas, oil and coal) is fired. These materials must withstand mechanical loads at high temperatures. High temperature strength not only plays a central role for power plants. It is also a key property for gas turbines for aero engines and in a number of other engineering applications like systems for waste combustion, motor production, industrial furnaces and others. The series of lectures introduces the specific aspects of high temperature deformation (creep and high temperature fatigue). It also considers high temperature corrosion. Two prominent high temperature material systems are treated, tempered martensite ferritic steels (high temperature materials which operate in the 600°C range) and single crystal Ni-base super alloys (high temperature materials which operate in the 1000°C range). For both material classes, the important role of microstructure in high temperature strength will be highlighted.

It will be shown that microstructures are not stable during high temperature service, where they attempt to establish a thermodynamic equilibrium which is often difficult to predict for complex high temperature materials. Moreover microstructural parameters evolve during high temperature service. Thus the volume fractions of phases can change, particles can coarsen, dislocation substructures may alter and cavities can form.

The series of lectures provides practical skills (useful in high temperature design and life time assessments of critical components). It moreover provides a microstructural understanding of elementary processes which affect high temperature materials. As a part of the lecture series students have the possibility to visit power plants, engine manufacturers and producers of high temperature materials.

The class takes place in the winter semester on Thursdays from 1.00 pm to 4.00 pm.

Vorlesungsankündigung WS19_20

WDE_WS1920.pdf
../galups/juo011012/small/team_13.jpg
../galups/ixv011012/small/people_38.jpg
../galups/fkh011012/small/research_3.jpg

Werkstoffe der Energietechnik


(Dr. rer. nat. Christoph Somsen, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Eggeler)

Die Versorgung der Menschheit mit Energie ist eine der Grundvoraussetzungen, die wir für die Zukunft sicherstellen müssen. In dieser Vorlesung geht es in diesem Zusammenhang um Werkstoffe für Anlagen, in denen thermische Energie in mechanische und dann in elektrische umgewandelt wird. Solche Werkstoffe kommen in Gas- und Dampfkraftwerken zum Einsatz, die mit fossilen Brennstoffen (Gas, Öl und Kohle) befeuert werden. Sie müssen bei hohen Temperaturen mechanischen Belastungen standhalten. Die Hochtemperaturfestigkeit von Werkstoffen spielt nicht nur für Kraftwerke, sondern auch bei Flugtriebwerken und in einer Reihe wichtiger Sonderanwendungen (Müllverbrennung, Motorenbau, Ofentechnik und andere) eine zentrale Rolle. Die Vorlesung stellt zunächst die Schlüsselmerkmale des mechanischen Verhaltens bei hoher Temperatur (Kriechen und HT-Ermüdung) vor. Sie geht dabei auch auf die Hochtemperaturkorrosion ein. An zwei Fallbeispielen, den angelassenen martensitischen Chromstählen (für Temperaturen um die 600°C) und den einkristallinen Ni-Basis-Superlegierungen (für den 1000°C Temperaturbereich) wird herausgearbeitet, welche Rolle die Mikrostruktur spielt.

Insbesondere ist diese im Hochtemperatureinsatz nicht stabil, sondern strebt einem Gleichgewichtszustand zu, den man für komplexe Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe nur schwer vorausberechnen kann. Dabei ändern sich Phasenanteile, Größenverteilung von härtenden Ausscheidungsteilchen, Versetzungssubstrukturen, und es können Poren entstehen.

Die Vorlesung versetzt Studierende in die Lage, die Besonderheiten der Hochtemperaturverformung zu verstehen, und vermittelt sowohl praktische (Lebensdauer von Hochtemperaturkomponenten) als auch spezielle materialwissenschaftliche Kenntnisse (Strukturänderung im Hochtemperatureinsatz und deren Folgen). Zur Vorlesung gehören Besuche bei Kraftwerken, bei Anlagenbauern und bei Herstellern von Hochtemperaturwerkstoffen, die einen Einblick in die Praxis vermitteln.

Die Vorlesung findet im Wintersemester donnerstags von 13.00 bis 16.00 Uhr statt.

Vorlesungsankündigung WS18_19
WDE_WS1819.pdf
galups/juo011012/small/team_23.jpg
galups/ixv011012/small/people_38.jpg
galups/fkh011012/small/research_6.jpg