What do materials engineers do after they have left university?


General: The job prospects in the materials field have been excellent, quite literally for decades now. The materials engineer earns rather well and in addition is able to easily migrate between different technology sectors. The students who graduated from our Institute for Materials, who today number almost 400, are very pleased that they opted for the study of materials. The number of women studying in our Faculty of Mechanical Engineering at the Institute for Materials has always been noticeably above average.

Fields of Activity: Materials engineers are much sought after in industry, at research institutes, at certification authorities, as expert witnesses, in technology transfer and in teaching. We give below a brief overview of some of the potential employers. This is by no means an exhaustive list, the possibilities are boundless.

Industry: In industry there are positions waiting for you at manufacturers of semi-finished products, such as Deutsche Edelstahlwerke, ThyssenKrupp, Alcan and Plansee. At these companies, semi-finished products are manufactured by means of melt metallurgy or powder metallurgy. They include steel (non alloyed and alloyed), metals (Al, Ti and Mg), refractory metals (Mo and W) and copper alloys. You could work at companies that make parts, components and systems (components: TRW, bearings: FAG, TK Rothe Erde, turbine blades: Doncasters, gears: GKN Sintermetals, turbines: Alsthom, Siemens, MTU engines: MAN, transmissions: Eickhoff, Bosch). Also automobile manufacturers (Opel, VW) and automotive suppliers (many of them SMEs) are well-known employers. It is also becoming increasingly attractive to work in the medical technology sector (e.g. medical implants: Cortronik, Admedes Schüssler, many SMEs). Many materials graduates are attracted to plant operators (power stations: RWE, chemical plants: BASF, Bayer, aircraft: Lufthansa).

Universities and research institutes:
The future looks bright for materials engineers who enjoy research. Those looking to launch a career in science can gain further qualifications at a university – our Institute for Materials would for example be an excellent choice. At our Institute for Materials, there are many excellent opportunities for obtaining a doctorate. PhD positions are funded by various bodies promoting research, the funding for our Chair comes primarily from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. Over 50% of the doctorates obtained by women at the Faculty of Materials were conferred for work completed at the Institute of Materials. You would be able to work at one of the German or international research institutes (HZ Berlin, FZ Jülich), or at a Max Planck Institute (MPIE Dusseldorf) or at Fraunhofer institutes (IWM Freiburg, IFAM Bremen/Dresden).

Certification Authorities: You could become involved with monitoring and approval inspections at the TÜV or at Germanischer Lloyd (the GL Group).

A Career as an Expert Witness:
There are a number of ways make a name for yourself as an expert witness, for example by working for insurance companies (Allianz) or for consulting and expert companies. A well-known employer in this sector is the Federal Institute for Materials Testing in Berlin (the German abbreviation is BAM).
../galups/juo011012/small/WW Team 09_2016.jpg
../galups/ixv011012/small/people_16.jpg
../galups/fkh011012/small/research_5.jpg

Was machen Werkstoffingenieure nach dem Studium?


Allgemeines: Die Berufsaussichten im Bereich Werkstoffe sind seit Jahrzehnten sehr gut. Dabei verdient man gut und kann zwischen verschieden Technologiebranchen wechseln. Mittlerweile sind fast 400 Absolventen unseres Instituts für Werkstoffe mit ihrer Entscheidung für Werkstoffe sehr zufrieden. Die Frauenquote am Institut für Werkstoffe in unserer Fakultät für Maschinenbau ist seit jeher überdurchschnittlich hoch.

Tätigkeitsfelder: Man kann als Werkstoffingenieurin oder Werkstoffingenieur in der Industrie, in Forschungsinstituten, bei Abnahmegesellschaften, als Gutachter, im Technologietransfer und in der Lehre tätig sein. Im Folgenden geben wir einige Beispiele zu möglichen Arbeitgebern. Diese Aufzählung erhebt nicht den Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, es handelt sich um einige von vielen weiteren Möglichkeiten.

Industrie: In der Industrie kann man bei Halbzeugherstellern (wie Deutsche Edelstahlwerke, ThyssenKrupp, Alcan, Plansee) arbeiten. Dort werden Halbzeuge erzeugt, die schmelzmetallurgisch oder pulvermetallurgisch hergestellt werden. Es geht dabei um Stahl (unlegiert und legiert), Leichtmetalle (Al, Ti und Mg), um Refraktärmetalle (Mo und W) und um Cu-Legierungen. Man kann bei Firmen tätig sein, die Bauteile, Komponenten und Systeme herstellen (Bauteile: TRW, Lager: FAG, TK Rothe Erde, Turbinenschaufeln: Doncasters, Zahnräder: GKN Sintermetals, Turbinen: Alsthom, Siemens, MTU, Motoren: MAN, Getriebe: Eickhoff, Bosch). Auch Automobilhersteller (Opel, VW) und Automobilzulieferer (viele KMUs) sind bekannte Arbeitgeber. Es wird auch zunehmend attraktiv, in der Medizintechnik zu arbeiten (z. B. medizinische Implantate: Cortronik, Admedes Schüssler, zahlreiche KMUs). Viele Werkstoffabsolventinnen und -absolventen gehen auch zu Anlagenbetreibern (Kraftwerke: RWE, Chemieanlagen: BASF, Beyer, Flugzeuge: Lufthansa).

Universitäten und Forschungsinstitute: Für Werkstoffingenieurinnen und -ingenieure mit Spaß an der Forschung gibt es gute Aussichten. Wer eine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn anstrebt, kann sich an einer Universität (durchaus auch an unserem Institut für Werkstoffe) weiterqualifizieren. An unserem Institut für Werkstoffe gibt es gute Möglichkeiten zur Promotion. Promotionsstellen werden von verschiedenen Forschungsförderern, für unseren Lehrstuhl vor allem von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft finanziert. Über 50 % der Promotionen von Frauen an der Fakultät für Werkstoffe wurden am Institut für Werkstoffe erarbeitet. Man kann an einem der deutschen oder internationalen Forschungsinstitute arbeiten (HZ Berlin, FZ Jülich), man kann einem Max-Planck-Institut (MPIE Düsseldorf) und an Fraunhofer-Instituten arbeiten (IWM Freiburg, IFAM Bremen/Dresden).

Abnahme-Gesellschaften: Man kann sich mit Überwachung und Zulassungsprüfungen befassen und beim TÜV oder beim Germanischen Lloyd arbeiten.

Gutachterliche Tätigkeit: Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, als Gutachter tätig zu werden, zum Beispiel bei Versicherungen (Allianz) oder in Sachverständigenbüros. Ein Arbeitgeber in diesem Bereich ist auch die BAM, die Bundesanstalt für Materialprüfung in Berlin.
galups/juo011012/small/team_20.jpg
galups/ixv011012/small/KN50 08_2013.jpg
galups/fkh011012/small/research_14.jpg