Research-Based Learning - Exp.2: Functional Fatigue of Shape Memory Actuators


At the Ruhr University Bochum, research-based learning is an important element of the image the institution has of itself, with the result that students are integrated into ongoing research projects. In a second example, we show how this might look in practice.
abb1_con24.jpg

Figure 1: The manufacture of NiTi shape memory wires: melting, swaging, rolling into a round crosssection and drawing wire.



These are the fascinating shape memory alloys which are capable of remembering their form even after undergoing severe deformation. When they are heated, they return to their original form. This one-way effect can be utilised in actuator applications. Shape memory actuators are manufactured so that they switch at certain given temperatures. These manufacturing processes enable one actuator to open the hot water valve in a coffee machine at 100 ° C, while another opens a greenhouse window at 40 ° C. A shape memory actuator has the advantage, compared with a classic motor-driven actuator, that it is extremely compact and works absolutely free of any vibration, since it only responds to changes in temperature. At the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering, we are able to manufacture NiTi wire on-site and wind it to form springs ourselves.
abb2_con24.jpg

Figure 2: Actuator spring, which was wound at the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering. Heat treatment is then used to imprint the shape into its metallurgical memory.



At the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering, the process routes for the production of actuator springs have been optimized as a part of the various research activities conducted by the students. As part of the project work carried out by our students, a test rig was built that enables the investigation of functional fatigue in shape memory alloys. To this end, a fatigue test rig was developed at the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering by postgraduates and students.

abb3_con24.jpg


Figure 3: Shape memory actuator spring on the test bench at the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering.



Shape memory actuator spring on the test bench at the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering.
abb4_con24.jpg


Figure 4: Changes to the shape of the actuator spring during heating and cooling.



There is also a great deal of interest in the microstructural analysis of the elementary processes that are responsible for the functional fatigue of shape memory springs. To this end, examinations using both the scanning electron microscope and the transmission electron microscope are carried out. Microscopic studies of this kind would certainly be interesting topics for Bachelor\'s and Master\'s theses.

abb5_con24.jpg

Figure 5: Production (ingot, rod, wire, spring) and fatigue (irreversibly deformed spring after many heating / cooling cycles) of NiTi actuator springs.

../galups/juo011012/small/team_24.jpg
../galups/ixv011012/small/people_7.jpg
../galups/fkh011012/small/research_24.jpg

Forschendes Lernen - Beispiel 2: Funktionelle Ermüdung von Formgedächtnisaktoren


An der Ruhr-Universität Bochum stellt forschendes Lernen ein wichtiges Element des Selbstverständnisses dar. Dabei werden Studierende in laufende Forschungsprojekte eingebunden. Hier soll an einem zweiten Beispiel gezeigt werden, wie man sich so etwas vorstellen kann.
abb1_con24.jpg

Abbildung 1: Herstellen von NiTi-Formgedächtnisdrähten: Erschmelzen, Rundhämmern, Rundwalzen, Drahtziehen.



Es geht hier um die faszinierenden Formgedächtnislegierungen, die sich nach starker Verformung an ihre Form erinnern können. Wenn man sie erhitzt, kehren sie in ihre Ausgangsform zurück. Man kann diesen Einwegeffekt (1-WE) in Aktoranwendungen nutzen. Formgedächtnisaktoren werden so hergestellt, dass sie bei bestimmten Temperaturen schalten. So sollen sie zum Beispiel bei 100°C das Heißwasserventil in einer Kaffeemaschine, bei 40°C ein Gewächshausfenster öffnen usw. Ein Formgedächtnisaktor hat dabei gegenüber einem klassischen motorgetriebenen Aktor den Vorteil, dass er sehr klein baut und absolut erschütterungsfrei arbeitet, da er nur auf Temperaturänderungen reagiert. Am Lehrstuhl Werkstoffwissenschaft können wir uns selber NiTi-Drähte herstellen und daraus Aktorfedern wickeln.
abb2_con24.jpg

Abbildung 2: Aktorfeder, die am Lehrstuhl Werkstoffwissenschaft gewickelt wurde. Anschließend wurde ihr ihre Form durch eine Wärmebehandlung eingeprägt.



Die Prozessrouten für die Herstellung von Aktorfedern, wurden am Lehrstuhl Werkstoffwissenschaft im Rahmen verschiedener Forschungsarbeiten von Studierenden optimiert. Im Rahmen von Projektarbeiten von Studierenden wurde auch ein Prüfstand aufgebaut, der es erlaubt, die funktionelle Ermüdung von Formgedächtnislegierungen zu untersuchen. Hierfür wurde am Lehrstuhl Werkstoffwissenschaft von Doktoranden und Studierenden ein Ermüdungsprüfstand entwickelt.

abb3_con24.jpg


Abbildung 3: Formgedächtnis-Aktorfeder im Prüfstand des Lehrstuhls Werkstoffwissenschaft.



Im Ermüdungsversuch wird die Feder bei niedriger Temperatur (im martensitischen Zustand) durch ein Gewicht in die Länge gezogen. Sie wird dann durch direkten Stromdurchfluss (in den austenitischen Zustand) erhitzt. Dabei zieht sie sich zusammen. Es wird nun untersucht, wie sich die Feder bei mehrfacher zyklischer Beanspruchung verhält und wie das von der Maximaltemperatur, von der Gegenlast und von der Geometrie der Feder abhängt. Außerdem ist für einen Werkstoffwissenschaftler interessant, ob das Ermüdungsverhalten der Feder durch eine andere Legierungszusammensetzung oder durch eine andere thermomechanische Behandlung verbessert werden kann.
abb4_con24.jpg


Abbildung 4: Formänderung der Aktorfeder beim Heizen und Kühlen.



Großes Interesse besteht auch in der mikrostrukturellen Analyse der Elementarprozesse, die für die funktionelle Ermüdung von Formgedächtnisfedern verantwortlich sind. Hierzu werden Untersuchungen am Raster- und Durchstrahlungselektronenmikroskop durchgeführt. Auch solche mikroskopischen Untersuchungen stellen interessante Themen für Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten dar.

abb5_con24.jpg

Abbildung 5: Herstellung (Ingot, Rundstab, Draht, Feder) und Ermüdung (irreversibel verformte Feder nach vielen Heiz/Kühl-Zyklen) von NiTi-Aktorfedern.

galups/juo011012/small/team_17.jpg
galups/ixv011012/small/people_28.jpg
galups/fkh011012/small/research_10.jpg