Research-Based Learning - Exp.1: Creep Damage at Grain Boundaries


At the Ruhr University Bochum, research-based learning is an important element of the image the institution has of itself, with the result that students are integrated into ongoing research projects. As an example, the following illustrates in concrete terms just such integration into the work conducted at the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering.

abb1_con23.jpg


Figure 1: Melting alloys in a vacuum induction furnace.



This example is concerned with the damage to pores caused by creep. If materials are subject to load at high temperatures, small pores can form on grain boundaries, which grow and ultimately lead to creep fracture. This limits the service life of high temperature components and is therefore technically of the utmost importance. A precise understanding of the formation and the development of these pores is therefore vital. Two factors play a crucial role here: (1) The difference in orientation between the two grains that are separated by the grain boundary. (2) The chemistry of the grain boundary, in particular the presence or absence of third elements.

abb2_con23.jpg


Figure 2:Cylindrical cast block being inserted into a rotary swaging machine.



In order to investigate this question, Cu, CuBi and CuSb alloys were melted and thermo-mechanically treated so that a similar grain size resulted in all three systems. The Bi and Sb accumulated at the grain boundaries, so that the three systems could be compared: polycrystalline pure copper and copper with Bi or with Sb at the grain boundaries. Students were able to perform a number of pieces of work, even at this early stage of the research project. For example, the melting of alloys can be examined; melting experiments are performed in a vacuum induction furnace, the molten ingots are then investigated for chemical homogeneity.

abb3_con23.jpg


Figure 3:CuBi ingot after processing with the rotary swaging machine.


Furthermore, research projects can be carried out by students on thermo mechanical treatment and on setting a constant grain size.

abb4_con23.jpg

Figure 4:Microstructure of pure copper after processing with the rotary swaging machine.



These are followed by creep tests; at the Chair of Materials Science and Engineering a special miniature creep specimen is used. Here too, there is more than enough material for scientific investigation to engage the enquiring minds of our students.

abb5_con23.jpg


Figure 5:Conducting creep tests on miniature creep specimens in an inert gas atmosphere.



In a careful microscopic examination using orientation-imaging scanning electron microscopy, grain boundaries with creep pores are metallographically investigated.

abb6_con23.jpg

Figure 6:Examples of the evaluation of creep pore damage in a miniature creep specimen.



For example, the results obtained show how the creep pore damage depends upon the crystallographic nature of the grain boundary and on the chemistry of the grain boundary. During the course of a semester, Bachelor\'s, or Master\'s thesis in this field, students are familiarised with important manufacturing processes (melting metallurgy, forming). The students delve into microscopic methods (light microscopy, scanning electron microscopy). They learn how to perform creep tests and how to metallographically examine creep specimens. In particular, they become acquainted with orientation imaging scanning electron microscopy. They develop a good appreciation of processes that determine the service life of high temperature materials.
../galups/juo011012/small/team_4.jpg
../galups/ixv011012/small/people 20   1.jpg
../galups/fkh011012/small/research_19.jpg

Forschendes Lernen - Beispiel 1: Kriechschädigung an Korngrenzen


An der Ruhr-Universität Bochum stellt forschendes Lernen ein wichtiges Element des Selbstverständnisses dar. Dabei werden Studierende in laufende Forschungsprojekte eingebunden. Wir wollen hier an einem Beispiel zeigen, wie solch eine Einbindung am Lehrstuhl Werkstoffwissenschaft konkret aussieht.

abb1_con23.jpg


Abbildung 1: Schmelzen von Legierungen in einem Vakuuminduktionsschmelzofen.



Es geht in diesem Beispiel um Kriechporenschädigung. Wenn man Werkstoffe bei hohen Temperaturen belastet, können sich auf Korngrenzen kleine Poren bilden, die wachsen und letztlich zum Kriechbruch führen. Dies begrenzt die Lebensdauer von Hochtemperaturkomponenten und ist deshalb technisch von höchster Wichtigkeit. Das Entstehen und das Wachstum solcher Poren muss man deshalb genau verstehen. Dabei spielen zwei Faktoren eine entscheidende Rolle: (1) Der Orientierungsunterschied zwischen den beiden Körnern, die durch die Korngrenze getrennt werden. (2) Die Chemie der Korngrenze, insbesondere die An- oder Abwesenheit von dritten Elementen.

abb2_con23.jpg


Abbildung 2: Zylindrischer Gussblock beim Einschieben in die Rundhämmermaschine.


Um dieser Frage nachzugehen, wurden Cu-, CuBi- und CuSb-Legierungen erschmolzen und thermomechanisch so behandelt, dass sich in den drei Systemen eine ähnliche Korngröße einstellt. Das Bi und das Sb reichern sich an den Korngrenzen an, so dass man drei Systeme vergleichen konnte: vielkristallines reines Kupfer und Kupfer mit Bi bzw. mit Sb an den Korngrenzen. Bereits in dieser Frühphase des Forschungsprojekts konnten Studierende eine Reihe von Arbeiten durchführen. Zum Beispiel kann das Erschmelzen der Legierungen untersucht werden, dazu müssen Schmelzversuche in einem Vakuuminduktionsschmelzofen durchgeführt werden, wobei die erschmolzenen Ingots auf chemische Homogenität hin untersucht werden müssen.

abb3_con23.jpg


Abbildung 3: CuBi-Ingot nach dem Rundhämmern.


Dann können Forschungsprojekte von Studierenden zur thermomechanischen Behandlung und zum Einstellen einer konstanten Korngröße durchgeführt werden.

abb4_con23.jpg

Abbildung 4: Mikrostruktur von reinem Kupfer nach dem Rundhämmern.



Es folgt die Durchführung von Kriechversuchen, wobei am Lehrstuhl Werkstoffwissenschaft eine spezielle Miniaturkriechprobe zum Einsatz kommt. Auch hier gibt es ausreichend Stoff für wissenschaftliche Arbeiten von Studierenden.

abb5_con23.jpg


Abbildung 5: Durchführung von Kriechversuchen an Miniaturkriechproben unter Schutzgas.



In einer sorgfältigen mikroskopischen Untersuchung unter Einsatz der orientierungs-abbildenden Rasterelektronenmikroskopie werden Korngrenzen mit Kriechporen metallographisch untersucht.

abb6_con23.jpg

Abbildung 6: Beispiele für die Auswertung von Kriechporenschädigung in einer Minikriechprobe.



Als Ergebnisse erhält man zum Beispiel, wie die Kriechporenschädigung von der kristallographischen Natur der Korngrenze oder von der Chemie der Korngrenze abhängt. Bei einer Semester-, Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit in diesem Bereich lernt man wichtige Herstellungsverfahren (Schmelzmetallurgie, Umformen) kennen. Die Studierenden befassen sich mit mikroskopischen Verfahren (Lichtmikroskopie, Rasterelektronenmikroskopie). Sie lernen, Kriechversuche durchzuführen und Kriechproben metallographisch zu untersuchen. Insbesondere kommt man mit der orientierungsabbildenden Rasterelektronenmikroskopie in Kontakt. Sie entwickeln ein gutes Verständnis für Vorgänge, die die Lebensdauer von Hochtemperaturwerkstoffen bestimmen.
galups/juo011012/small/team_2.jpg
galups/ixv011012/small/KN50 08_2013.jpg
galups/fkh011012/small/research_12.jpg