Electron Microscopy


The TEM group at our Chair, led by Dr. Christoph Somsen, produced a series of most successful results during the period under review. The analysis of carbides and intermetallic phases and changes in the long-term creep of a chromium steel deserve particular mention. Dr.-Ing. A. Aghajani did the work for his doctoral thesis in this field. The work conducted with TEM in-situ experiments, in which materials were heated, cooled or drawn, enjoyed the same considerable amount of attention. Dr.-Ing. A. Kröger and Dr.-Ing. T. Simon made decisive contributions to a better understanding of elementary deformation and transformation processes in NiTi.

Our transmission electron microscopy facilities by other groups from within Institute from other faculties of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. member of our Chair\'s be seconded to the investigation hand; the resulting thus considerable. two years of the reporting period, image and interpret highly complex structures of engineering materials. This has led to increased demand for TEM work from our partners in industry.

In September 2010, Dr. Antonín Dlouhy from the Institute of Physics of Materials of the Czech Academy of Sciences in Brno, was appointed Associate Professor for the Transmission Electron Microscopy of Materials at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. He conducts his research in close collaboration with Dr. Somsen.
../galups/juo011012/small/team_treppe.jpg
../galups/ixv011012/small/people_16.jpg
../galups/fkh011012/small/research_20.jpg

Elektronenmikroskopie


Die TEM-Gruppe unseres Lehrstuhls, unter Leitung von Dr. Christoph Somsen, hat im Berichtszeitraum eine Reihe sehr schöner Erfolge erzielt. Hervorzuheben wäre die Analyse der von Karbiden und intermetallischen Phasen und deren Änderungen beim Langzeitkriechen eines Chromstahls. Auf diesem Gebiet führte Herr Dr.-Ing. A. Aghajani seine Doktorarbeit durch. Ebenso große Aufmerksamkeit haben die Arbeiten erfahren, die sich mit In-situ-Experimenten TEM befassen, bei denen geheizt/gekühlt oder gezogen wird. Hier haben Dr.-A. Kröger und Dr.-T. Simon entscheidende Beiträge zu einem besseren Verständnis elementarer Verformungs- und Umwandlungsprozesse in NiTi geleistet.

Die Durchstrahlungselektronenmikroskopie wird auch von anderen Gruppen des Instituts Werkstoffe aus anderen Fakultäten der Ruhr-Universität Bochum genutzt. Dabei muss sich oft ein Mitglied der TEM-Gruppe unseres Lehrstuhls in die Untersuchungen mit einschalten, die Arbeitsbelastung den letzten beiden Jahren des Berichtszeitraums ist auch in der Industrie deutlich geworden, dass in unserer TEM-Gruppe auch komplexe Gefüge von Ingenieurwerkstoffen gut abgebildet und interpretiert werden können. Deshalb steigt auch die Nachfrage unserer Industriepartner nach TEM-Arbeiten an.

Seit September 2010 ist Dr. Antonin Dlouhy vom Institute of Physics of Materials der Tschechischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Brno an der Ruhr- Universität zum apl. Professor für Durchstrahlungselektronenmikroskopie von Werkstoffen ernannt worden. Er führt seine Forschungsarbeiten bei uns in enger Abstimmung mit Dr. Somsen durch.
galups/juo011012/small/weihnachtsfeier2-39.JPG
galups/ixv011012/small/people 20   1.jpg
galups/fkh011012/small/research_15.jpg